E's Reviews: Green Lantern


In Brightest Day...In Blackest Night...I sure do wish...this movie would leave my sight...

GREEN LANTERN is an early DCEU movie directed by Martin Campbell and stars Ryan Reynolds as Hal Jordan/Green Lantern, Blake Lively as Carol Ferris, Peter Sarsgaard as Hector Hammond, and Mark Strong as Sinestro. The film is about reckless test pilot Hal Jordan, who is granted an alien ring that bestows him with otherworldly powers that inducts him into an intergalactic police force, the Green Lantern Corps. Upon getting this power ring, he attempts to become a great hero to his star system, while trying to get back in good graces with the test facility he works at, and trying to be a good brother to his family.

I watched this movie, actually three times, in cinemas. ‘Why would you do that?!’ you may be asking yourself...and the reason being is this: I love Green Lantern. Green Lantern is one of my favorite superheroes of all time. I love the comics, I love the lore, I love the character, I own it on Blu-Ray, DVD, and digital (including the extended director’s cuts). I even bought a bunch of the figures and accessories that came out along with the movie. So, it’s safe to say that I was excited. What I got in the end...was something I didn’t entirely enjoy. Which made me sad...very very sad...(and yet I’ll still watch it even today...)

Let’s talk about the bad parts of the film, and the thing that really made fans upset: the use of CGI. More or less everything is CGI’d in this movie, especially on OA. But that’s not the worst of it...the entire GL suits are CGI’d to give them a “sci-fi” feel. What’s wrong with the spandex the characters where in the comics?! They looked absolutely ridiculous. Mark Strong, who is an excellent actor, had some of the worst CGI for his face I’ve ever seen. What’s wrong with using makeup effects to make him look like the character he’s portraying?! The entire thing looked like a poorly put together schlock-fest. It was so poorly shot and poorly CGI’d that I want to throw up. Then we get the horrid story. I can accept that it’s a total origin, that part wasn’t what bugged me. Everything worked up until the reveal of the actual villain, Parallax. Now, being a big GL fan, I know what Parallax is. I know how Parallax comes to be. But this? This is not Parallax. This is not how he comes to be. This was a complete mess that destroyed Green Lantern.... There’s an interesting after credits scene that hints at a sequel, except there’s no DAMN SETUP TO EXPLAIN THE SCENE!!! What a shame...what a damned shame...

Ok so now the good...the stuff that actually saved it for me. The sequences watching Hal Jordan using the ring were pretty cool. Ryan Reynolds in the role was excellent, he embodied everything you’d expect from the cocky, young Hal. Blake Lively and Ryan Reynolds have great chemistry. But that’s about it, there’s nothing at all else that can redeem this film other than the performances of the actors, who did their best with the absolutely crap script they were handed.

The only reason I own and watch this movie regularly, is just because I love the character so damn much, and I keep wanting to find things to make it better...but sadly, those things just don’t appear. That being said, I truly hope that DC/Warner Bros. can make Green Lantern Corps. into a power house film along the same line as Wonder Woman, and really just fix the DCEU. And really...WB just needs to let DC create their content and stay out of it. That’s how these films will get better.

Final Score: 4/10

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Zo's Reviews: Antlers

Zo's Reviews: The Mimic (Jang-san-beom)

Zo's Reviews: Come Play