E's Reviews: Black Panther
Ok so I'm reposting this because...screw the haters...WAKANDA FOREVER! Also I edited quite a bit of it...
Black Panther was directed by Ryan Coogler and stars Chadwick Boseman, Michael B Jordan (wasn't he just the Human Torch...? How meta), Lupita Nyong'o, Danai Gurira, Martin Freeman, Daniel Kaluuya, Letitia Wright, and Winston Duke. This film centers around T'Challa, heir to the hidden but advanced kingdom of Wakanda, must step forward to lead his people into a new future and must confront a challenger from his country's past. All of this takes place after Captain America: Civil War.
So...the bad...The way the movie played out, however, suffered from what I felt was a lackluster script and from poor CGI moments. It lacked that OOMPH factor that previous Marvel Studios films had going for them. It lacked that fun that the other movies had. It lacked a villain that was actually, for lack of a better term, scary. His plan wasn’t well thought out, it wasn’t unique, it was generic and cliche. Basically...Black Panther was this: this movie was so disappointing it’s like you know when you’re enjoying a popsicle during the summer, and then you find out the popsicle was sugar free? It’s like that. Does that mean I hated it? No. I didn’t hate it. In fact, the shortcomings of the movie (the massive amount of hype, the political BS that was all over the media about it...which makes zero sense...it’s a friggin super hero movie people...the poor CGI, the bad plot, the bad script, the villain's poor motivations) do not outweigh or destroy what the movie has done, which was introduced us to a brilliant cast and advanced the Marvel Cinematic Universe. It gave us a whole new world to explore and become intrigued with. It gave us Chadwick Boseman in a larger role as one of the premier heroes from the Marvel Universe (and I cannot wait to see what he does with the character going forward). It introduced us to T’Challa’s sister, Shuri (who was charming and awesome). It introduced us to Wakanda (which I admit I wanted to explore more). It introduced us to Erik Killmonger who...I had hoped...would’ve been closer to his comic roots, but what can you do? They took a liberty there and the always entertaining Michael B. Jordan did his best with the material he had, and yes, I loved him in this movie (motivational shortcomings and all).
I just wished the movie had lived up to the hype, because I was seriously interested in the movie and I really REALLY wanted it to be a GREAT Marvel film. I’ve been a fan of Black Panther since I first started reading comics. I loved the character in Civil War (movie). I loved the character as part of Marvel’s Illuminati (comics). I wanted it done with more justice than it was shown in his first solo feature. I’m honestly hoping that with Infinity War and the follow up solo feature with Black Panther (which they most definitely will...the movie broke all kinds of box office records, and kudos to Marvel, Disney, the entire cast, crew, and Ryan Coogler for this amazing feat), that with future installments they will go with a less cliche’d villain, with a unique motivation, with better CGI (which is admittedly more of a nitpick). I want to see more of this world of Wakanda that Marvel has created. I want to see more of Black Panther, and I hope they do the character justice. And why did parts of Wakanda look like some technologically advanced society...and the others looked like a poor village? I digress...
Overall, I’d call the movie the second weakest in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (which doesn’t mean I hate it, I liked them all). It’s just an average movie to me, and it’s disappointing after all the hype that was generated by the media and by Marvel/Disney. The media themselves pushed that politically correct narrative so hard, that I will admit it did hurt it for me a little bit. But without that cast that the film had, this definitely would've been a flop.
Final Score: 7/10

Comments
Post a Comment